What do You Want To Be?

Well, don’t we all face this question from everyone around us, be it our parents, teachers, neighbors, friends, relatives etc etc. And don’t we ourselves ask this question a lot many times. What do you want to be? Here are my answers…

When I was a kid, you know the kindergarten days, I answered this question like this,” I want to be an IAS officer”, though at that time I didn’t even know what IAS means. But that was something all my relatives used to say, my uncle, aunts, etc. It was fed into my mind. And whenever my teacher used to ask me, beta what do you want to be, I would proudly say, an IAS officer. And she would smile and I would be that happy small kid who made her teacher smile. I now know what her smile actually meant. ( Beta, dekh le bde bde sapne, baad mai pta chalega kitne papad belne padte hain)

Then came the days, when my brother got into medical college and everyone around me was so proud of him for getting a rank in AIPMT. I myself was so proud of my bro. He became my role model and that desire to become a doctor crept into my mind. And it remained so, till I faced the reality of not getting a rank well enough to get into medical school.

Anyways i joined engineering and no one asked me this question for four long years.

Now, when college is done-

My dad- He still wants me to study and try for IAS and he keeps telling that to his relatives all the time, “meri beti IAS bnegi”!!!

My Uncle- He wants me to do research and be a scientist. In a hidden corner of his heart I know he hopes for me to get a Nobel some day.

My aunt- Most of the time, she still keeps blabbering about how I should have dropped one year back then and tried for medical again. On other days, she hopes for me to do Phd, even that allows you to write Dr. in front of your name you know.

My mom- I don’t know what she wants, other than to make me the next Mother Teresa. Her hopes are beyond my imagination.

And as for me, I still don’t know what I want to be. I haven’t figured it out yet. Yes, I am thinking to do post graduation, but that’s not because I want to, that’s because it’s a way for me to escape out and find my actual passion or whatever, I don’t know.

But, if God appears in front of me right now and asks,” Child, what do you want to be”?

I would say, “I just want to be happy with whatever I have and whatever I do in my life”.

17 thoughts on “What do You Want To Be?

  1. “There is fear as long as you want to be secure; secure in your marriage, secure in your job, in your position, secure in your ideas, in your beliefs, secure in your relationship to God.
    The moment the mind seeks security at any level, there is bound to be fear; It is not a matter of so-called purity. The mind which is alert, watchful, which is free of fear, is an innocent mind; and it is only the innocent mind that can understand reality, truth or God.”

    Like

  2. i completely get it Mona, ive gone through the same thing. worst part is even after uve chosen a career people wont stop talking. they would say stuff like – you shouldve gone and done this or that. people will talk Mona, its what they do. in the end it’s ur life, ur choices, ur regrets. think about it.

    Like

  3. I might be your photocopy in terms of ambitions 😛
    I was one of the things you-wanted-to-be and I am trying to be one the other things you-want-to-be. The other thing that wanted-to-do is very much on the cards and will come around 🙂 But I can not be mother Teresa- that will be something that you will have to do alone 🙂 And, of course, being-that is pretty big a professional leap. So do not know if I can do that 😦

    Not knowing is fine. “Let the chips fall as they may” young lady. Good luck and godspeed !

    Like

    • now, that’s confusing.. you were one of the things i wanted to be, n trying to be another thing i want to.. what are you exactly?
      Haha, mother teresa.. that’s what i say to my mom, she wants me to be a replica of her.. no one can be like that.
      thank you for the wishes.. 🙂

      Like

      • Pleasure is all the mine 🙂
        I know it is confusing 😛 I was a scientist and I am trying to be an IAS officer. The point is you can be all of this- in this very life 🙂 – if that is what you want to do.

        Like

  4. I too had written a post similar to this! Your family/relatives atleast have varied plans in terms of academics/profession. My family/relatives have just one dream for me that is ‘Marriage’ 😀

    Like

    • now that’s a more complex problem.. i can understand..many of my friends are going through a similar phase.. thank god, no one in my family is thinking about marriage right now. I would just flee somewhere if anyone starts talking about it.

      Like

  5. God! this is the question i face atleast 15 times a day…(even by the people whom i already answerd 100 times)
    I am myself too much confused, so I plan to be “confusologist”!!!
    Something like that exists, right? no? ok! I will invent that…may be people will be proud of me
    then(may be)… 😦
    I will also blog on this topic I think…hmmm…
    😀

    Like

  6. Loved ur writing! Truly!
    and the last line, to be content and happy with what we have, deserves a pat on the back!
    kya baath! kya baath! kya baath! 🙂
    oh by the way, I am still on the quest to find out what I want to become and I hope to not find it ever! Cuz its gonna stop me from tying out new things and new ways of living a happy and content life! 🙂

    Like

    • good luck with your quest.. sometimes its the way not the destination that matters… i am on my way too, its just that my way is a full of hurdles and a lot more confusions right now..
      wish you a happy ride ahead..
      thanks for the appreciation.. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

