Where There Is Light…

Diwali has always been my favorite festival, right from the time I was a kid. I remember the days I would emotionally blackmail my uncle, aunts and cousins to get me more and more crackers. Those days in my hometown…. wahan ki baat hi kuch aur hua karti thi. Poora sehar dikhta tha hamare ghar se, or wo multicolored lights se saje hue ghar, unhe khoobsurat kuch or ho nahi sakta. I just realized while writing this post that its been 10 years since I  last celebrated Diwali  in Pithoragarh. God, that was a decade ago!! I miss my place, specially during festivals like Diwali and Holi. Its not like I don’t enjoy celebrating festivals in other places, its just that, nothing is as beautiful and fun as it was in my hometown.  Sach mai, wo din or wo yaadein, baat hi alag thi. 

After celebrating Diwali in Bangalore for many years, which was sometimes good and sometimes very depressing, I was ready to see what Bengal has in store for me. This was my fourth Diwali without family and by this time I am pretty accustomed to celebrate festivals all alone. And since the day I’ve accepted this idea of celebrating things with myself, without depending on others for happiness, good things are actually happening to me. Unlike the times in Bangalore, where I used to cry all the time thinking about my loneliness, specially during festivals, I did manage well here. I guess that’s the way life is, it surprises us the day we stop expecting anything from it. I am trying to apply that principle to the other parts of my life as well. If I succeed in doing that, I am gonna be a really happy girl.

Right from the morning when I earned the first salary of my life ( from part time tuition), to the lazy afternoon, the dressing up and photo sessions in the evening, to bursting crackers and having home made food for dinner, it was a great Diwali. There are some dark, depressing situations in my life, but there are moments like these, the ones filled with hope and light, they brighten up everything. This Diwali was truly the festival of lights for me… overshadowing the worries and complexities of life.

How was your Diwali? Did you celebrate it with your family, went for a long vacation, or did something different? Let me know…

24 thoughts on “Where There Is Light…

    • Hi Soumya… I am doing good. Life’s busy with classes and exams… its been a long time since I wrote anything, so you haven’t missed anything out here.
      Happy Diwali to you and your family. 🙂 How are you?

      Like

    • I am from India which is a country of a wide variety of religions. The pictures are of a festival named Diwali, which is called the festival of lights. Its one of the major festivals in Hinduism, although people from other religions too participate in it. It is celebrated to mark the return of Lord Rama after 14 years of exile. It is also celebrated to worship Lakshmi, the Goddess of wealth. It has different significance in different parts of the country. It is also celebrated as new year across many regions in India.
      Its my favorite festival. We light lamps, candles, make sweets, burst crackers. The whole nation lights up. You must come to India someday to witness Diwali. I am sure you’ll like it. 🙂

      Like

    • I don’t know many things about America culture, that doesn’t make me ugly or stupid. And its really great that you want to learn about different cultures, at least you are making an effort to know about our country. That’s an achievement in itself. Thank you for showing so much interest in our culture. Its great to meet people like you here in wordpress. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

