The Difficulty of Writing

“Okay, maybe I’m not such a shitty writer. But I can’t pull my ideas together, Van Houten. My thoughts are stars I can’t fathom into constellations. “

I came across these lines while reading the book, The fault in our stars, and absolutely loved them, for they depict the exact state of my mind, of my inability to write. I had decided to write more after the end of my first year in college, and there were times when I clicked on the New post option here on WordPress, but as my fingers hovered over the keyboard, all the scattered thoughts in my mind refused to form anything sensible.

There were stories waiting to be written , waiting to be shared and read but there I was, unable to put into words the thoughts I had in my mind. There was a time when I could write anything, from romantic poems to inspirational write-ups, things about society, environment, good stuff, bad stuff, meaningless shit but today I struggle to write even the title of this post.

And yes, I miss writing. I miss the people who read my stuff, I miss their likes, comments and thoughts on the stuff I wrote.  This was the world I created to talk about things that mattered in my life  and it sucks to abandon my own world. There are times when I smile even by seeing spam messages in my account, I feel happy to think that at least spammers still linger around here. I may write in my private diaries, but that never equals the contentment I get by writing here. And as much as I love writing, I love to be read.  That’s what all humans have, a desire to be heard and respected.

As I continue with my struggle to align words and form sentences worth reading, I sincerely do hope that someone somewhere is reading this and hoping for me to win this battle. Yes, sometimes writing needs prayers to be kept alive…

 

18 thoughts on “The Difficulty of Writing

  1. We all have our ups and downs… Just deal with it 🙂
    I’ve always admired your writings and hope to read more from you! Never quit, write what comes into your mind… You have already created a beautiful blog by now, just add up bits on your own time!
    Enjoy writing 🙂

    Like

  2. “Aren’t we all waiting to be read by someone, praying that they’ll tell us that we make sense?”
    – Rudy Francisco

    And I tell you what. This post certainly does make a whole lot of sense. 🙂

    I wish you posted more often!

    Like

    • That’s a really good quote… and thank you for telling me that I make sense. I’ll try to post more…I have so many stories to share… 🙂
      How are you? How’s office and everything?

      Like

      • I’ll be waiting eagerly for your next post! I always do. 🙂

        I am good, thanks for asking. 🙂 Office is still the same. I am depressed and bored with doing the same things day after day.

        Like

      • I know how it is bur don’t be depressed yaar. Try to face situations with a smile. You know I was like you too but now I’ve embraced things and people and I am getting happiness in return. Try finding new ways of doing old things. And you too write about it. I wrote when I was depressed and got this blog and so many blogger friends. You too will come out of it one day. Trust yourself.

        Like

  3. Hey there. I know how you feel. I have been there myself. I used to write poems and there was a phase when I didnt or couldnt. Now a days, I write a lot, but mostly tech stuffs!! You have really good writing skills. I hope you find your rhythm back. I will be reading. I am following ur blog!! Keep writing.

    Like

    • Hi…welcome to my space. It’s always good to see new followers. You write technical stuff, gosh, that thing goes over my head!!! 😉 I hope I can find some poems out there…. good luck for your blog. 🙂

      Like

  4. I’m in the same boat! I used to post so much on my blog, like almost once a day – now it’s more like once a month! 😦 not only do I not have as much time, but I also am less inspired and can’t seem to write anything well enough! Good luck and don’t give up! Just try writing a little everyday and when something good comes out just post it on here!

    Like

    • Hey..good to see you…and yes I miss those love poems you used to write… 😦 I know how everything comes up and we keep putting off writing from our mind. Sometimes, I just make excuses of exams, projects, lack of internet etc but I have realized that if we really wish to write we can, even if its just a 6 word story.
      Good luck to you too…try to post more often. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

