Now That You Are Gone

I check my phone a million times a day,

Hoping for your texts or a call,

I wait anxiously from dusk to dawn,

But there’s nothing, no sign of you,

Now that you are gone.

I relive old memories of us,

That rainy afternoon when we first met,

To the stolen kisses on that overcrowded bus,

Teary eyed I inhale the smell of your absence,

Now that you are gone.

I dream of you sometimes,

Far away in a distant land,

You walk away, leaving me alone.

I flounder to meet you even in my dreams,

Now that you are gone.

***

I wrote this poem in response to this week’s writing challenge in which we have to take inspiration from any of the 50 word stories that are been given there. I have written it in response to the story “Regret” by A lady in waiting:

“Gazing at the quaint street below, Nick watches couples come and go. Kids are playing with a soccer ball. He remembers the flea market open for the weekend in Long Island City. He lazily says โ€œWe should go.โ€

Nick turns toward the empty bed. He remembers now, that sheโ€™s gone.”

27 thoughts on “Now That You Are Gone

  1. Pingback: love isn’t forever | Musings of a Random Mind

  2. Pingback: Did I Say That Right? | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  3. Pingback: Fifty words of waking up | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  4. Pingback: 50 words in the shower. | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  5. Pingback: you [pronoun]; a person forever changing | Ramisa the Authoress

  6. Pingback: Fifty Word Inspiration | chey being

  7. Pingback: In no time, time flies by! | shivansh chaudhary

  8. Pingback: When I Die Everyday | Views Splash!

  9. Pingback: Sorrento SOS | litadoolan

Leave a Reply

