Moms And Their Superpowers

I have a bad habit of biting my nails whenever I sit down to study. I never realise I am doing it until someone points it out to me. So this morning when I was sitting in my room, lost in my newspaper, my mother shouted from the kitchen, “Stop biting your nails”. Very steadily I removed my thumb from my mouth and shouted back, “How do you know that I am biting my nails? You are in the kitchen”.  And my mom replied, “Because I have a third eye which has magical powers”. And trust me this mystical third eye is not fake, it’s definitely a real thing. This special power of my mom to locate every single thing I have ever lost in my lifetime has helped me a lot: my specs every time I remove them for bathing or washing my face, that small almost-invisible-to-my-eyes button I lost from my shirt, that important document I kept carefully some time back but forgot where I kept it when it was actually required, my slippers, my camera, my books, my socks, you name it!

But the third eye has its drawbacks too. Back in childhood every mischief of ours was caught by our mother. By some sixth sense, she came to know that my brother took a round in the roller-coaster in spite of her warnings of no to do so, that my sister stole two rupees from my father’s pocket, that I myself signed my test papers instead of showing them to her.  You see, the three of us never left any witness or evidences but she always caught us red handed. It is her clever investigative techniques that I have nicknamed her CID. This power of hers in not limited by distance, even when I am miles away from her, she can always sense my sadness, pain or discomfort. I actually check my room to see whether she has secretly installed a camera somewhere or not.

I have actually come to a conclusion that the moment a woman becomes a mother, God gifts her with an extra sense: a connection with her child that is time proof, distance proof, and age proof. I witnessed this extra-sense-granting-ceremony exactly two years back when my sister gave birth to her son. The moment the little baby arrived, everyone was excited to see him while my mother was more eager to see her daughter, she couldn’t calm down till the doctors brought my sister out of the operation theatre. Every time the baby made a little noise my sister’s heartbeats shot up and the alarm of the monitor started ringing. Hearing the alarm, my own mother’s blood pressure increased. It was worrisome yet surreal: the mamta (maternal affection) of two mothers. I don’t think there is anything as unique as a mother’s love in this universe and this love is the reason our mothers know us better than anyone. This third eye of a mom always protects her child from any misfortune that could happen to him/her. This bond and mamta attributes them to be our saviour, our spies, and our life guards. And this is what makes them special…

Care to share any superpower your mom possess… do comment below. 🙂

9 thoughts on “Moms And Their Superpowers

  1. Hi…
    Well I can write lines after lines on this..
    But before that I must admit that you are amazing writing and sharing such post.
    Your conclusion that whenever a woman become mother, god provide this power..

    Reminds of my mom..
    Wherever you are…. I am sure you have this magical property through which you must be keeping an eye on me, protecting me.
    I must say… Every women is a child of a girl… Respect is what I have…. Salute is all I can do, because I am not capable enough to keep a child in my womb, I cannot feed… And many more…

    Take care and thanks for sharing
    God bless!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

