New Girl In the City

That’s a cliche title but I really wanted to write on it since the time I saw the movie Wake Up Sid. For those of you who haven’t seen the movie, it’s about a young boy who is clueless about his life, has no ambition and just goes on wasting his dad’s money.Later in the movie he fails in his MBA exams and is thrown out of the house by his dad. He goes on to live with his friend, a girl who has always dreamed of being a writer. The first article that she finally gets to publish is named New Girl in the City. And since I saw that movie about five years ago, I have always wanted to live like that girl, alone in a big city, with a cosy room, chasing old dreams and discovering new ones. For her the city was Mumbai, but sadly for me it is Delhi. So, I moved to Delhi a few days ago, the city I have always hated. I have been here countless times but I hardly ever saw anything. The only places I have been to are the airport, New Delhi railway station and Anand Vihar bus stand. And now I am here, living in this tiny little room right in an old and tall building inhabited by many pigeons.

Delhi is chaotic, with its cramped houses, and narrow lanes, with people running all the time abusing every single person that hinder their way, with everyone in the metro hooked onto their phones, with all the loud aunties and their notorious children and sadly with a starless sky. Sometimes, when I look all around the metro I see that I am the only person without a phone in her hand. It is a good place to observe people, to mentally make a note so that you can later write about them on your blog. I have never been to such a crowded place. I mean Bangalore was crowded and had a pretty lousy traffic but I never got a chance to see so many people at the same time, plus I rarely understood Kannada to actually know the happenings there. I was always intimidated by Delhi girls; they all looked so pretty, with perfect hair and makeup, with stylish clothes and shoes, with their different and confident way of walking and I-don’t-give-a-damn attitude. Earlier for me a ride through metro was a sure shot way of losing all the confidence I had, but in a week or so I have gotten used to it. It doesn’t freak me out anymore and I am really surprised that I feel this way.

Moving to Delhi has also brought about another change in my life, my long distance relationship of five years has finally become short distance. Our friends suggested us to actually live together but I would rather kill myself than do that. I mean long distance to live-in, are you kidding me! It is okay the way it is, we get to see each other almost every other day and that is perfectly fine. I can’t lose my independence for a guy. The transition was something I was dreading for a really long time but we are doing okay.

So here I am, in some ways living the life I always wanted to, if only the thing I am here for turns out to be a success. Wish me luck!

P.S. If you are wondering what happens to that clueless guy in the movie, well he discovers his passion in photography and ends up publishing a picture in the same magazine where this girl gets to write her article. They both fall in love and the movie ends with the monsoon rains and a really nice song in the background.

P.P.S. So today I was talking to my new flatmate and something about blogging came up. I randomly asked her about blogs and she told me how people write political, social, technical stuff on the internet. I was mentally thinking about how someday she is going to end up on my blog (*evil grin). It is great to be an anonymous blogger. I love it.

1365703_65859_182092845136208_176117289067097_675407_840341_n_large

Picture from here.

23 thoughts on “New Girl In the City

    • Oh…I am sorry to know that. But no relationship can completely be a disaster. Just remember the good bits. 🙂 I am more of a long distance girl, it is short distance that is freaking me out. 😉

      Like

      • It ok..don’t be sorry .. maybe is was the evil man.. anyway you are right saying about the good bits.
        Very true. I remember them crystal clear.. They were so many of them..

        Well completely hypothetical so what you going to do if you move in closer..

        He he he he

        Like

      • Oh! We live like one station away so the situation you mentioned is not completely hypothetical. I am doing okay, just not used to the idea of having to meet “the bf” everyday and doing couple like things. It’s more of a friendship you know. Plus we have to hide our relationship from common friends. (Family issues). Sometimes I feel there’s nothing much to hide.

        Like

    • I love that song. In fact I love everything about that movie…the way Sid discovers his love for photography and for Aisha, the music, the ending. If only real life was like the movies…

      Like

  1. I love ‘Wake Up SId’ as a concept.
    Great acting and a great idea!
    It’s so crucial to find a calling.

    I love your take on Delhi!Indeed it is very crowded.
    ‘Delhi is chaotic, with its cramped houses, and narrow lanes, with people running all the time abusing every single person that hinder their way, with everyone in the metro hooked onto their phones, with all the loud aunties and their notorious children and sadly with a starless sky’
    There could not have been a more accurate description!This created such an amazing picture in my head,like it was my own! 🙂

    Hope your relationship is going great! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have realized that I have missed lot of your posts recently ..this is one of them ..May be your posting them on weekend 🙂 I keep myself away from blogging on weekends 😛 ..Delhi is chaotic but Noida is worse …I lived there for 2 years and never liked it 😦 But metros are fun 🙂 I loved metro rides 🙂 it gives ample of time to read 🙂 And yes all the best for your future endeavors 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you…. 🙂 ya I love metro rides too.. its the only thing I like about Delhi. I see that you read a lot of my posts yesterday..even the ones I had forgotten about. Thanks. Sometimes reading my old posts really makes my day. It’s like a part of me I have left behind which seems so good in memories. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • yeah even I too think that metro is the best thing in Delhi 🙂 Yeah as I saw your new post in my reader and went to your site and starting reading your old posts 🙂 I love when people write about emotions..memories and about their real self ..instead of fiction 🙂 I loved your posts 🙂

        Like

  3. I love the New girl in big city concept 😄 when I moved to chennai few years back, that’s how I felt too. Good news on the relationship front, I see.. All the best for your talaash😄

    Like

  4. ‘Delhi is chaotic, with its cramped houses, and narrow lanes, with people running all the time abusing every single person that hinder their way, with everyone in the metro hooked onto their phones, with all the loud aunties and their notorious children and sadly with a starless sky’

    From the above, it seems you have not lived in Mumbai 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

