Best Friends Forever

“When we honestly ask ourselves which person in our lives mean the most to us, we often find that it is those who, instead of giving advice, solutions, or cures, have chosen rather to share our pain and touch our wounds with a warm and tender hand. The friend who can be silent with us in a moment of despair or confusion, who can stay with us in an hour of grief and bereavement, who can tolerate not knowing, not curing, not healing and face with us the reality of our powerlessness, that is a friend who cares.”
― Henri J.M. Nouwen

9th September 2008, the first day i met her. A shy, innocent and naive young girl from Karnataka. It was our first day in college and she was the only one who talked to me in hindi.We both had to apply for hostel and so we went to the warden together. That day and every day after that till the last day of college we did everything together. She was like me in many ways and yet she was so different. I was short tempered, her dictionary didn’t have the word temper, i was the spoilt one, she was too cultured, i would shout for every small reason, and she would look here and there to check if someone is hearing us. All those four years in college we spent the whole day together, from 9 am to 11 pm. She would come everyday to my room to wake me up, ask me if i had brushed yet or not, slam me for not taking bath, then we would run to college, have breakfast together, sit together in class, lunch together, evening tea and parle g (i can never forget that, i miss parle g 😦 ), roam together after college, and after having dinner we would go back to our respective rooms. She used to sleep very early, i on the other hand was insomniac. We were always together, always. We had fights, really serious fights. I would always shout on her, she like always would say nothing in return. And again in few minutes we would be back together. She understood me like no one else. We would never get bored talking. It was good even if there were many problems in our respective lives…Life was good. We have many memories together. The first day in college, the days at hostel, the fights over what to eat for dinner, the Mysore trip, her sister’s wedding, the stressful days during exams, the way we used to envy dogs because they didn’t have to study, the days we didn’t eat because we fought with each other, the day she scolded me for not brushing my teeth and i poured  hot tea over her in anger,  the bitching sessions, the times she abused me for crying over my love life, the days i taught her hindi slangs (she masters the art now, more than me), all the days we cried, we laughed, we enjoyed, i can never forget those moments. Friends came and friends left in both of our lives but we had each other. Each moment i cherish about my college life, she comes into the picture, because she was always there. College ended last year but not our friendship. We call each other minimum three times a day.We still have so much to share, to laugh about. I always used to tell her, if you were a guy, you know i would’ve married you. I can write thousand words about us, yet i could never express the love and friendship we share. Words are just not enough.

This is for you SKK. You know i miss you a lot. I know i’ll never ever get a friend like you. When i stopped believing in friendship, you came like an angel into my life. You made me believe that best friends do exist, that people can be different yet care so immensely for each other. You were, you are and you’ll be always be my best friend. I know its going to be a little boring without me but what can we do now. Just pray for me so that i can give you a small gift next year, unlike a post like this (Compensation for not giving you a gift)

Happy Birthday, Moti.

 

12 thoughts on “Best Friends Forever

Leave a comment